It’s Now or Never: What do you want?

which way woman

 

What do you want?

That’s the very first question you need to ask yourself when you start to plan a travel adventure. What do you want, regardless of your job/money/life situation?

Sure that’s a big question, but when was the last time you let yourself answer that honestly, without censoring yourself?

Do you want to travel around the world? Do you want to backpack through South America? Do you want to explore your state parks? Do you want to attend a cooking school in Japan? Do you want to volunteer on an organic farm? Do you want discover that funny little town next door? Do you want to house sit in Romania?

Write it out, make a list of destinations or ideas or adventures, whatever it is you have ever dreamed of doing. Now that you see these crazy ideas on paper or on screen, maybe some of these ideas aren’t so crazy after all, maybe they make more sense sitting there outside of your head.

Or maybe, you already have the answer on the tip of your tongue, and you know exactly what you want from your travel dreams. You may have been mulling it over for months or even years, but have never been able to decide how or when to take action.

Now the question becomes this: Do you need lots of time to accomplish your travel dreams? Because if you do, that’s when you start the planning. It will most likely mean shifting your lifestyle for awhile, and that’s something you’ve got to prepare for. But that preparation work isn’t so hard–it’s more of a rush because you know all your efforts are leading up to something beyond your wildest dreams.

When I asked myself 8 years ago, ‘What do I want?’ I already knew I wanted to get the hell outta Texas where I was working a full time job. Where did I want to go? I had no idea. But I just wanted to leave, for awhile, go abroad and do something interesting, learn more about how life works in a completely different part of the world.

Every day I went to work, I knew that part of my income was going toward my dream to go far far away. So even when the days were long and excruciatingly boring, I had my EXHILARATING GOAL to keep me going.

So, first step: think about it, write it out, draw it out, talk about it with someone–just don’t let your dreams of travel adventure get stuck inside of you. Once you realize what you want to do, don’t take it lightly. If you don’t take your travel dreams and ideas seriously, no one else is going to either.

So what do you want? What’s your travel dream?

But what do you think?

